David Layer is Sr. Director, Advanced Engineering in the Science and Technology Department of NAB. David has been with NAB since 1995, and has been very active in the radio standards setting area. He is also involved in NABís technical conference planning and technical publication activities, and has been an author and contributing author for numerous technical publications, including IEEE Spectrum magazine (a leading journal of the Electrical Engineering profession), the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology, as well as the updated NAB Engineering Handbook. He is currently serving as one of three Section Editors for the 10th Edition of the NAB Engineering Handbook now under development.

Mr. Layer is a frequent presenter at broadcasting industry events around the world, having made presentations on broadcasting technology to numerous state broadcasting associations, trade associations and technical societies as well as at conferences in Switzerland, Chile, Brazil, Mexico, and Uruguay.

Mr. Layer is an Associate Member of the Association of Federal Communications Consulting Engineers (AFCCE), where he serves on the associationís board of directors, and is a Senior Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE,where he recently completed a six-year term on the Advisory Committee of the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society. He also served as the Chairman of the annual IEEE Broadcast Symposium from 2002 to 2004. He received a B.S.E.E. degree from the University of Maryland, and an M.S.E.E. degree from Purdue University, where he was also a teaching assistant.